Annual Membership Celebration

Concerts & Plays

Cook & Eat

Families: Activites & Education



Friday Night Lecture Series

Language and Literature Classes at PSU

Lucia Scholarship


Nordic Film Festival

Opening Celebration Weekend

Scandinavian of the Year



Upcoming Events

Mission Statement
Preserve, Communicate, and Celebrate Scandinavian Heritage and Culture
Scandinavian Heritage Foundation - Scandinavian of the Year

 Scandinavian of the Year

Scandinavian of the Year is one of the most prestigious awards given annually by the Scandinavian Heritage Foundation (SHF) to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to his/her organization and to the wider Scandinavian community in the Pacific Northwest. The plaque is given in recognition of outstanding achievement and public service, and is awarded every year at the Portland Scandinavian Midsummer Festival.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2014 Scandinavian of the Year!

SHF invites all local Nordic organizations to nominate an individual whom they feel has made an outstanding contribution or achievement to their community during 2014. Fill out this nomination form:

2014 Scandinavian of the Year Nomination Form.pdf

and submit it to SHF by May 22, 2015.

You can email it to (with "Scandinavian of the Year" in the subject line) or you can send it to us by mail: 8800 SW Oleson Rd. Portland, OR 97223.

2014 Scandinavian of the Year Letter.pdf

2014 Scandinavian of the Year Press Release.pdf

Congratulations to Pauline Coleman, 2013 Scandinavian of the Year

Pauline Coleman, Norwegian, nominated by Sons of Norway Grieg Lodge 2-15

Pauline has been an active member of Grieg Lodge for 64 years and is still hard at work on their behalf. According to people she works with, the word "NO" is not in her vocabulary. She was assistant to the cultural director at Grieg Lodge from 1997 to 2002 and was instrumental in moving Grieg Lodge's Syttende Mai celebration to the actual date of May 17, instead of holding the event on the closest Saturday. Pauline was financial secretary and recording secretary on two different occasions. She has served at every lutefisk dinner since 1950 and is now coordinating volunteers for Grieg Lodge's monthly pancake breakfasts. After her retirement, Pauline volunteered as a tutor at Portland Public Schools. Her parents were born in the Trondelag area of Norway, while Pauline herself was born right here in Portland Oregon.

All those nominated for this award deserve acclaim for their contributions and devotion to communicating and celebrating Nordic culture and community. The other 2013 nominees were:

Carol Tripp, Swedish. Nominated by: New Sweden Cultural Heritage Society.

Jody Jones & Alana Mapes, Swedish. Nominated by: Scandia Ladies Chorus of Portland, Scandinavian Men’s Choir and SHF's Friday Night Lecture Series Committee.

Jeff Klein, Swedish. Nominated by: Nobel and Harmony Lodges, Order of VASA, Swedish Society Linnea.

Mary Knutson Sullivan, Norwegian. Nominated by: Frida Hansen #37, Daughters of Norway

Past Scandinavians of the Year 

1956 Bob Anderson
1960 Marcus Peter Pihl
1961 Carl M. Saltveit
1962 Malcolm Frykman
1963 Erv Lind
1964 John Virtanen
1965 Bardi Skulason
1966 Boris Sirpo
1967 Lorentz Bruun
1968 E. Dean Anderson
1969 Werner Sahlin
1970 Erik Hauke
1971 Ernest Harold
1972 Christian Elster
1973 Oscar Nastrom
1974 Harold Berentson
1975 Melvin Pihl
1976 G. Bernhard Fedde
1977 Lloyd E. Anderson
1978 Magnus Esrom
1979 Faye Frykman
1980 Ross Fogelquist
1981 Alpo Tokola
1982 Mary Nastrom
1983 Glen Nordby
1984 Rolv Schillios
1985 Gerda Farestrand
1986 Martha Stenberg
1987 Mel Iverson
1988 Herb Matta
1989 Cathy Bjork
1990 Ellen Jacobson & Maj Persson
1991 Johanna B. Fedde
1992 Saara Slossar
1993 Judy Rust
1994 Lillian Johnson
1995 Robert M. Lee
1996 Carol De Sau
1997 Kaja Voldbaek
1998 Rosi Hill
1999 Elisabeth Mendenhall
2000 Doris & Harry Heiberg
2001 Steinar Fuglestad & Elsie Nordby
2002 Toni Linne & John Nielsen
2003 Christie Stilson
2004 Aase Maja Besson
2005 Doug & Ulla Hanson
2006 Eila Chisholm
2007 Carl & Marian Thompson
2008 Ann Grangaard
2009 Denver James/Kristi Johnson-James
2010 Andy & Margot Toth

2011 Larry West
2012 Clinton Maurice

2013 Pauline Coleman

Powered by AspDotNetStorefront shopping cart